5 Fragrance-Free Sheet Masks You Have to Try

Sensitive skin babes, rejoice!

Nudie Glow
5 min readDec 9, 2020

Sensitive skin babes, rejoice! Fragrance-free or unscented products seem to be gaining a lot more popularity recently as a result of consumer demands, especially in the K-Beauty scene. While fragrance in skin care doesn’t bother everyone (I, for one, don’t mind fragrance at all), it is often advised that those with sensitive skin, a compromised skin barrier, or a particular allergy, all avoid fragrance. Most dermatologists and cosmetic chemists also agree that for extremely sensitive skin, it is best to also avoid essential oils or natural fragrance components, as these can also increase irritation.

Related article: The Best Korean Beauty Products to Reduce Redness & Inflammation

These five sheet masks are free from fragrance so they are completely safe for even the most sensitive of skins. It may seem like most sheet masks out there are packed with fragrance, but there are actually so many incredible fragrance-free options! If you are unsure about whether a product is fragrance free or not, check the ingredients for ‘fragrance’, ‘parfum,’ ‘linalool,’ ‘limonene,’ ‘eugenol,’ ‘citronellol,’ or ‘geraniol’.

Now, let’s get into the sheet masks! I have put these sheet masks to the test over the past few weeks, so keep reading if you want to know my thoughts on them!

1. I’m From Mugwort Sheet Mask

I was so excited to try this mask out because I am such a huge fan of mugwort as an ingredient, and I especially love the I’m From Mugwort Wash-Off Mask! This particular sheet mask variant is made from a really thin material that felt like silk on the skin, and because of the mugwort, it was immediately cooling as I applied it. After taking it off, my skin was visibly less red, and so much more hydrated. My one gripe that I had with it was that it seemed to dry up after about 15 minutes, and I tend to like leaving my masks on for more than that. But I do think that this mask would be great for anyone who has sensitive or acne-prone skin, and who is in need of a quick treatment that actually works!

Related article: Ingredients 101: The Magic of Mugwort For Your Skin

2. Benton Snail Bee High Content Mask Pack

I have been using this sheet mask from Benton for such a long time. In fact, the Snail Bee line from Benton was my gateway into K-Beauty way back in high school! This mask claims to target hydration, brightening, wrinkle and pore care, and I genuinely believe that it ticks all those boxes! In addition to the two star ingredients, snail and bee venom, this mask also contains a high amount of green tea water, niacinamide and EGF peptides. It is also the most affordable sheet mask in this line up, coming in at only $4 per treatment, so I cannot recommend this sheet mask enough.

3. Klairs Rich Moist Soothing Tencel Sheet Mask

Out of all the sheet masks I have ever tried, this one is a serious contender for my top pick! If you need something that is going to give you a tonne of hydration and moisture, look no further. This mask is packed with cholesterols, fatty acids, and five types of ceramides (!!!) so it is really going to quench dry and dehydrated skin. The mask itself is made out of tencel, which feels kind of like gauze, and it also comes in two pieces so you can get a perfect fit. If you are in the market for a full fragrance-free K-Beauty skin care routine, I highly recommend checking out the rest of Klairs line, as they have some amazing products suitable for sensitive skin!

4. Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Facial Mask

This mask is also an old faithful of mine, as is the entire ceramidin range from Dr. Jart. As the name suggests, this mask is packed with ceramides, but it also contains five different kinds of hyaluronic acid and panthenol, so it’s going to be geared towards babes with dry skin or who are concerned with ageing. What I loved about this mask was the fit and how it seemed to be so saturated with the serum that I could leave it on for more than 30 minutes without it even starting to dry out. The material of this mask is a little thicker than the rest, and it really feels like it traps the moisture in your skin in a satisfying way.

5. By Wishtrend Natural Vitamin C21.5 Enhancing Sheet Mask

This is a mask that has always intrigued me, but I’ll admit, I was intimidated by it because I assumed that it has 21.5% vitamin c, which freaked me out a little! But it actually has 21.5% Hippophae Rhamnoides Water, also known as sea buckthorn, a natural source of vitamin c. If you are looking to brighten a dull complexion or fade acne scars, this is the one! My skin was visibly brighter after taking this mask off, and the day after I used it, I was blown away by how glowy and even my skin looked! This would be an amazing mask to turn to before an event, or just anytime you want to give your skin a big boost of radiance.

Contributed by Alice Falkai. Check out her Instagram & YouTube!

--

--